Director: Marikki Hakola  
Genre: Music Film, Video Art
Duration: 5 min. 30 sec.
Production Year: 1989
Master Format: PRO RES HQ, PAL 4:3
Audio:  Stereo
Language: No
Distributor: Kroma Productions Ltd.

Synopsis & Credits

“Stilleben – Milena’s Journey” is a video work based on the radiophonic composition ”Stilleben” by composer Kaija Saariaho. Script, direction, editing and production is by media artist Marikki Hakola, camera is by Raimo Uunila and acting by Minna Tarkka.
The starting point of the story is Franz Kafka’s letters to his beloved Milena. Exerpts of letters are heard as part of the radiophonic composition. The Journey of Milena turns from perceptions and impressions to mental expressions. Milena’s Journey draws out experiences of distance, solitude and longing. Simultaneous  layered imagery relies on the collective memory of the audience, the ability to see invisible.

The video work is commisioned by Austrian Broadcasting Company ÖRF  for the Linz Ars Electronica Television Gala 1989.
The video work is in the collections of  the Contemporary Art Museum Kiasma (Helsinki, Finland) and the  Musée National d’Art Moderne, Centre Pompidou (Paris, France).

The First Prize at the Århus International Video Festival 1991
The First Honorable Mention at the Bonn Videonale 1990

Production categories

Experimental Featured Media Art Music Film Short Fiction Video Art