Director:  Marikki Hakola  

Duration: 00:40:00
Production Year: 2005
Genre: Music Documentary
Master Format: DigiBeta
Audio: Stereo
Language: English / Chinese
(Finnish and English Subtitles)

Kroma Productions (TV, events)
Naxos (DVD)

Web Site HERE

Butterfly Tones  is an interview documentary, that opens the background of the violin concerto composed by He Zhan Hao and Chen Gang and the fictional dance and music film Butterfly Lovers based on the composition. Composer Chen Gang describes the birth of the violin concerto which brings together music traditions from the Eastern and the Western music cultures. Violinist Takako Nishizaki talks about her career and ponders the interpretation of music. Conductor James Judd analyzes the composition and tells how he sees the work of a conductor. Researcher of literature, professor Zeng Kang Mei reveals the birth of ”The Love Story of Liang Shanbo and Zhu Yingtai” and its significant importance to Chinese. She tells about the Yuyan opera and the position of a woman in Chinese culture over different periods. The choreographer Dou Dou considers the art of dance and the meaning of it and explains the base of the choreography of ”Butterfly Lovers” as well as the role of a solo dancer. The documentary is designed and directed by Marikki Hakola. Produced by Kroma Productions Ltd. 2005.

Credits -> Here